post image
April 16, 2019

Celebrating National Poetry Month

Edgar Allan Poe once said, “I would define, in brief, the poetry of words as the rhythmical creation of beauty.” In honor of National Poetry Month, we are highlighting faculty from our Professional Poetry Writing concentration who have great works of poetry.  Learn more about University College’s poetry faculty and get inspired to write poetry of your own.

Tim Earley
Tim is the author of five books of poems, Boondoggle (2005), The Spooking of Mavens (2010), Poems Descriptive of Rural Life and Scenery (Horse Less Press, 2014), Linthead Stomp (Horse Less Press, 2016), and Epigrams Both Ludic and Regicidal (Delete Press, 2019). His work has appeared in many journals and anthologies, including Chicago Review, Colorado Review, jubilat, Southern Humanities Review, Sink Review, Typo, Conduit, The Ecopoetry Anthology, Literary Trails of the North Carolina Mountains, and the Hick Poetics Anthology. Learn more about Tim by visiting his website.

Jessica Comola 
Jessica is a poet and multimedia writer. Her first book, Everything We Met Changed Form and Followed the Rest, came out in 2016. Jessica also has a chapbook, What Kind of Howly Divine, from Horse Less Press which came out in 2014. She is currently working on her second book, which explores texts and textiles through a feminist disability poetics lens. Learn more about Jessica and her work.

Brian Laidlaw
Brian is a poet-songwriter whose books include The Stuntman (Milkweed Editions, 2015) and The Mirrormaker (Milkweed Editions, 2018), each of which was released with a companion album of original music. A new collection called Summer Err: A John Muir Erasure is also forthcoming from Mount Vision Press later this year. Brian is a folksinger[ and has credits as a Songwriting Consultant on multiple Grammy-Award-winning and Grammy-nominated albums. Brian tours with his own band, The Family Trader. Learn more about Brian by visiting his website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *